Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need info about user license

Applied Minds January 25, 2023

I'm new to Help Desk, do we have to pay for a block of users and a block of agents?  We're seeing messages that we have exceeded the number of users, but most of our users submit tickets via email, not via web.  We' like to have the web option- but other platforms I've used only charge for the IT agents, not for the end users.  Am I missing something?

3 answers

1 vote
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 25, 2023

Hello @Applied Minds 

The users that count against you license are the ones to whom you have granted product access. You can have licensed users (the people who work on resolving the issues) and unlicensed user (customers who only interact with the issues through email or the customer portal).

This document provides more detailed information.

https://support.atlassian.com/jira-service-management-cloud/docs/what-are-user-types-and-roles/

Let us know if you have additional questions after reviewing the document.

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 25, 2023

There is no limit to the number of Customer-type users you can have for your service desk.

Can you show us the URL that the users are using to access your service desk portal? And a screen image showing the error message they are seeing?

You can obscure the initial part of the URL that shows your domain, and any text on the screen that might be confidential.

so is the base URL for admin/licensed agents, but there's a different one for customers to submit tickets?

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
January 25, 2023