Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to hide and unhide a custom field based on another field's value

Zeeshan Ahmed Khan January 30, 2023

I have come across this JSON but don't know how to hide or unhide a custom field. Field name is "Impacted Service:" and I want to hide it based on user selecting "Other:" in another field.

{
"update": {
"Impacted Service:": [
{
<<<<<<How to hide the field>>>>>>>>
}
]
}
}

The only supported action here seem to be "set" which is not what I need.

That's what my automation flow look like:

Screenshot 2023-01-31 151657.png

2 answers

0 votes
Tzirel Shaffren June 28, 2023

I'm a relative newbie to Jira Administration, but there is a custom field type called "Select List (Cascading)". Might that solve your problem?

zzSelectCascading2023-06-28_17-02-29.png

Zeeshan Ahmed Khan June 29, 2023

This feature of cascading select list is helpful if you have a field (say city selection) dependent on the parent field (say country selection). It cannot be used as a hiding/unhiding requirement. Anyhow, I have got what I needed by using custom Forms which is an in-built feature in Jira Service Management Cloud. 

Like Tzirel Shaffren likes this
0 votes
Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 30, 2023

@Zeeshan Ahmed Khan -

Unfortunately, the Automation for Jira functionality doesn't support field hiding/unhiding based on other custom field's value.  Therefore, automation rule will not work for you.

Currently, the only thing I know that it may work in the Cloud env is ScriptRunner for Jira add-on Behavior component.  However, the vendor is still working with Atlassian to develop the full capability to provide the functionality just like what they have for the DataCenter (on-prems) env.