Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating and managing large lists

Scott Windus March 8, 2021

Hi

I am exploring the capabilities of JSM for company-wide deployment.

A critical need we have is in relation to lists. The lists need to be manageable and will be lengthy. For example Roles, Departments, Application lists, Locations. A list may be used on one form or multiple and can contain hundreds of values. Ideally, list values would be able to be bulk imported into JSM. The UI for short lists is ok, but out of the question when talking about 50-200 values. The ability to export for analysis would also be useful.

I am an experienced Jira Software Admin and have created many single and multiple-choice lists, but these all have fixed values and are no more than say 20 items long. 

We are currently using Service Now and it uses a list database and the form list field looks up the database and returns the value (Reference Lookup style)

I need to be able to manage these lists, add new values and hide values, without deleting them, so they are still retained in previous form submissions but not available in new forms. 

Is this possible OOTB? If not OOTB, is there are add-on that does not cost the earth to achieve this?

Thank you

2 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Mikael Sandberg
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 8, 2021

The way I solved it is by adding those lists, like departments and locations, as objects in Insight (Insight will be part of JSM Premium plan soon). Another option would be to use an external database and use something like Elements Connect. At my previous company I used Elements Connect to create lists with up to 20000 entries (part numbers). 

Thanks Mikael, I will see what options others have used.