Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot delete Service Desk attachments on NEW Jira View

Michael Sheehan February 1, 2021

Hi,

We recently moved over to the new Jira view. For some reason, we cannot delete our own attachments from the attachments section. See screenshot attached.

Cannot Delete Attachments.png

The deletion works fine when we switch back to the old Jira view. This is not a permissions issue as I am an admin on the project with full permissions. 

Any help appreciated.

Regards,
Michael

3 answers

0 votes
Brian Sweet July 28, 2021

This happens with Jira Work Management (cloud).

If files are uploaded within a comment, the files are added to the attachments list but they cannot be deleted in the new issue view.

To delete comment-uploaded files, you have to edit a comment and remove each file from it. OR, switch to the old issue view (which is still more efficient, has a better layout, etc.).

Files uploaded directly to the attachments list can always be deleted, regardless of old or new view.

Another weird decision by Atlassian...

0 votes

I didn't mean to add this update as an answer, but I think I now know the issue (possible defect)

- Attachments added while creating tickets > no issues deleting afterwards

- Attachments added to existing tickets (via new or old view) > cannot delete via new view

- Attachments added to existing tickets (via new or old view) > can delete via old view

0 votes
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 1, 2021