cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatically change issue type based on email "to" field

Phillip C March 25, 2021

Hi,

(TLDR below)

Basically, I've got an email account connected to Jira that has multiple aliases on the mailbox and I want to be able to automatically change the issue type based on the email 'to' field.

Use case:

Emails that are sent to spamreporting@mydomain.com, will be changed from the default placement of service request TO spam reporting (a custom issue type i created)

FYI I already matched my source to destination workflow - so thats all good there. 

After much investigating I finally found how to add logging, validate json and get my email "to" field. Wow! (im pretty new to this so give me a moment here).

However, now I've changed the rule from manually trigger to Issue Created - it doesnt trigger. So I've tested a few different triggers, but no luck either. I thought about a time condition, but I don't really want to put in a run every 10 seconds / 30 mins / 1 hour type of trigger either - thats just barbaric.

Any ideas on what trigger i need to put in OR if there is just a way simpler method that what im trying to achieve?

TL;DR - why is my compare statement only working by manually triggering the automation rule and not for Issue Created?

image.png

3 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Angélica Luz
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 31, 2021

Hello @Phillip C,

Thank you for reaching out to Atlassian Community!

Checking your use case, it seems that the email information is taking a while to be populated, that’s why when using the “Issue created” trigger is not working.