Automate Parent Ticket Creation

Cory Cigas April 29, 2021

Hello everyone, I am new to Jira so was hoping to ask a few questions. This one specifically is how to create a Parent ticket automatically.

The team I am apart of likes to have our tasks all associated to a parent ticket. There are different categories so there could be multiple parent tickets as well.

I was hoping to get some help with making this happen. That once a task is created and assigned a date, a parent ticket is then created and assigned the same date. Then for every task created under that same category and date, those then get assigned to the same parent ticket.

Is this even possible anyway?

Thank you

3 answers

0 votes
Daniel Ebers
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 7, 2021

Hi @Cory Cigas

after re-reading your requirement I do believe the following rules applies rather than the previous one - however, I am still not clear how you define the 'parent', for now I assumed as an "Epic" which made the new rule look like:

grafik.png

I am now really interested what you find out when you test all this.

Cheers,
Daniel

0 votes
Daniel Ebers
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 7, 2021

Hi @Cory Cigas

I did a few tests using Automation lately on this but I am not sure if I fully understand your setup and/or requirement.

You say that "once a task is created and assigned a date" a parent ticket should be created. Could you please be more elaborate on this?
I could image a task which is then linked to another task. From my understanding you are not referring to a sub-task because you could not create one if it had not already a "parent".