Next:
badges earned

Your Points Tracker
Challenges
Leaderboard
  • Global
  • Feed

Badge for your thoughts?

You're enrolled in our new beta rewards program. Join our group to get the inside scoop and share your feedback.

Join group
Recognition
Give the gift of kudos
You have 0 kudos available to give
Who do you want to recognize?
Why do you want to recognize them?
Kudos
Great job appreciating your peers!
Check back soon to give more kudos.

Past Kudos Given
No kudos given
You haven't given any kudos yet. Share the love above and you'll see it here.

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Automate Parent Ticket Creation

Hello everyone, I am new to Jira so was hoping to ask a few questions. This one specifically is how to create a Parent ticket automatically.

The team I am apart of likes to have our tasks all associated to a parent ticket. There are different categories so there could be multiple parent tickets as well.

I was hoping to get some help with making this happen. That once a task is created and assigned a date, a parent ticket is then created and assigned the same date. Then for every task created under that same category and date, those then get assigned to the same parent ticket.

Is this even possible anyway?

Thank you

3 answers

There's a variety of ways to create a new issue based on some action.  You could look at:

1. Automation that performs issue creation when the task is updated to meet your criteria.

2. Scripting (may require an app like Scriptrunner) to execute from a workflow post-function.

Hope this helps.

Im trying out automation now but stuck on it actually.

Trying to do:

When due date is set, and the issue is a task, and there are no parent tickets on that due date, then create a parent ticket.

But I am stuck on the no other parent ticket on due date part.