Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding cc'd users to a new ticket automatically.

Eddie Seasholtz June 25, 2020

I'm really new to Service Desk and have been trying to find the answer to make this work for a few days now. But so far, it's been hit and miss, with no clear answer. I've read threads that say it works automatically, threads that say it won't work unless the cc'd people are already users, and a thread that says to use a third part app to do it. I just want to find a way to make it work consistently...

And there seems to be a lot of people who have asked for this in the forums over the past several years. So maybe I just haven't stumbled on to the right message thread to get me there...

So we have three users (support staff) on our service desk. We manage IT support for multiple companies (our clients) that each have many staff members (users).

I've created a project for each company (our client) so that their staff can send in emails to create help tickets under their respective project (company).

It is common for a client's staff person to cc their supervisor or other people on their team when they report a problem to us for our support staff to address. Likewise, when we solve the problem and notify the client's staff, anyone that was listed on the original email request should be notified.

So the client staff member sends a request for help to their appropriate email address which Jira Service Desk picks up and creates a ticket like clockwork. That initial email does create a ticket properly. It does assign the staff member as the ticket Reporter.