Structure with Initiative, Epic and Story hierarchy

Jeffrey Kirkpatrick December 16, 2020

I am a Structure newbie.  I've gone through posts trying to figure this out but I am having a great deal of trouble pinpointing a solution.

In my JIRA project, I have created Initiatives.  Each Initiative has either

• multiple Epics which have Stories nested under them OR
  • individual stories nested under them if they don't warrant Epics

Trying to figure out how to show via Structure the hierarchy similar to below and I am coming up short. 

Initiative 1

---- Epic 1

----------Story 1

----------Story 2

---- Epic 2

----------Story 1

----------Story 2

Initiative 2

---- Epic 1

----------Story 1

----------Story 2

---- Story 1

---- Story 2

The closest I can get is just at the Epic -> Story level using JQL:

issueFunction in issuesInEpics("priority = Critical and (status = Open or status = 'In Progress')")

Any suggestions?

3 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Egor Tasa [ALM Works]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 16, 2020

Hi Jeffrey,

This should be pretty simple.

1. Automation+>Insert>JQL query. The JQL should contain only initiatives

2. Then Automation+>Extend by>Linked issues - the link between Initiative and Epic

3. Automation+>Extend by>Stories under epics

Regards,
Egor Tasa

ALM Works

This appears to have worked!  Thank you so much for the quick response and help!!

Russell July 12, 2021

Cheers this worked for us :)

Andrew Beaudry June 8, 2023

I do not understand Step 2.  What is the link between Initiative and Epic?

When I try and use Child or Parent link types, it doesnt work

Sachin Mistry June 8, 2023

Is Automation+, a separate plug-in that we have to purchase?  Does this come standard with JIRA Advanced Roadmap? 

David Niro
Marketplace Partner