Can I use jira for a construction project with massive repetition of tasks?

Alex Wrobel July 17, 2021

Hi, I am a civil engineer, and I wondered if Jira can be used for construction projects with massive repetition of tasks. It’s a project of 398 identical houses divided by blocks, for example, 28 houses in block 539, 32 houses in block 518, 27 houses in block 485, etc. All the houses are the same, with the same tasks and sub-tasks. What is the best way to use Jira? The best idea that I had was to create issues like FOUNDATION as Tasks and issues like CONCRETE IN FOUNDATION as subtasks connected to the issue FOUNDATION, after that I thought about cloning the issue FOUNDATION for each house, that are the EPICS of the project, and finally, each block is a different project. But that is not very productive. Can anyone help me?

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Airbus Driver
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 18, 2021

Hey Alex,

I love seeing Jira being considered outside of IT! Here are my 2 cents;

• Each block would be a project (Block_539, Block_518, etc)
  • Inside every block (project), you would have an Epic (to track the completion of the entire block) OR each house could be an Epic.
  • Each house could be a Story (if it's not an Epic) which is tied to the Epic
  • You can create your own customized issue-types for the sub-tasks or you can just use the existing 'sub-task' template
  • Create a Jira Automation Rule with the following (consider if we are creating a House as a Story);
    • Whenever a new Story is created, create the subsequent sub-tasks for each one of them (this way, you don't have to create the subtasks yourself everytime you create a new 'House')
Alex Wrobel July 18, 2021

Hey my friend,

Thank you so much for the help, that's exactly what I needed!!!