Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to gather information in jira for a billing app

Ziga Zvan October 21, 2021

Dear All,
I'm quite new in a role as a Jira admin and I would appreciate some general guidance in the following use case. Curently we are using Jira, Confluence, JSM, Tempo (timesheets and planner).

1. Our customers will open tickets on a JSM portal

2. I would like to provide some context to this tickets (eg. their test/production environment url). I guess I should link somehow organization in JSD project with an JSM CMDB object customer and provide some custom fields (e.g filter just environments for a particular customer on a issue they enter). Is this possible? Any documentation how to do it?

3. This tickets will be resolved either directly on JSD project or linked to various backend Jira projects. I would like to track the amount of time consumed for a particular customer, know how much of this time is billable and have control over actual hours to bill (eg. consumed time is just a suggestion, operator is able to adjust actual hours beeing billed). I guess Tempo account comes in play at this point. Is this correct direction? Is there a way to link/sync... organizations in JSM with a tempo account? What happens with a time consumed on a ticket in a backend Jira project that is billable and linked to eg. 20 different JSD tickets?

4. I would like to collect this information and generate an invoice in external application using Rest API. Something like this:
For all customers
select hour, ticket_id
from ?
where billable=true and status=ConfirmedByCustomer and month=thismonth
How to do this?

Any guidence will be appreciated. I hope I plan to use correct plugins to achive this tasks...

Regards,
Ziga

4 answers

Suggest an answer

0 votes
Nigel Rochford
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.