Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi. Would you recommend Jira or Confluence as the better software for a scrum?

Tanya Bunge May 14, 2022

I am new to both Jira and Confluence.  I know that they can be used together, but if one was only using one of them, which would be the better to document a scrum please, in your opinion; and why?

4 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

4 votes
Answer accepted
N/A May 14, 2022

Honestly the two products are very different.

1. Jira is for supporting a Scrum or Kanban team to achieve their outcomes
  2. Confluence is essentially a very fancy wiki.  While confluence can do all sorts of other things with plugins, this is essentially what they are for at their core.

In short, use Jira.  Of course I'm reading a bit into your question though, as saying 'document a scrum' could be taken different ways.

Hope that helps.

Tanya Bunge May 15, 2022

Hi Marshalleq, 

Thank you kindly for taking the time to answer my question.  Your comments have been very helpful to me indeed.  Much, much appreciated.

Have a wonderful day.

Kind regards,

Tanya B.

Like N/A likes this
3 votes
Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 14, 2022

@Tanya Bunge -

Welcome to the community first of all.  In my option, you should start with Jira Software and conduct/setup the Scrum process first.  This will give you the actual hands-on experience with running/planning a scrum.  You can then supplement the scrum with Confluence reference on documenting the best practices/concepts for your scrum team.