Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having problems assigning a task to a user in a project

Andrew June 7, 2022

Hello. I am very new to Jira and I am working with a Kanban board using a small test project. I am on a Premium edition of Jira. I am sorry if this is a stupid question but I am brand new to this and have posted a support ticket about this but I am getting no response from Jira support.

I cannot seem to be able to assign a task to a user other than myself even though I am the administrator and I have added another user to the project. If I create a child of the task, then I am able to assign any child task to a member in the project. I would think it is important to be able to assign tasks to other users and not just children of a task. I am also not sure how to create a subtask as I have seen this documented but cannot see this option in my interface. I am honestly finding this all very confusing and I am hoping to get someone to help me get over the initial issues that I am running up against.

6 answers

Suggest an answer

2 votes
AA_PH June 7, 2022

Hi @Andrew hope this helps...

When creating KANBAN from scratch, you will be presented with an option to choose between TEAM MANAGED or COMPANY MANAGED

1. Team-managed - Set up and maintained by your team.

For teams who want to control their own working processes and practices in a self-contained space. Mix and match agile features to support your team as you grow in size and complexity.

You will see “Access”, choose between: Private, Limited, Open

Once you created the project…

1. ASSIGN: You will be re-directed to a “board” you will see here a search field with your acct icon and a “add account” icon or “+”, you will need to add people here first, refresh your page and then you should be able to assign to that person already