Does anyone use the Smartsheet connector for Jira?

Lydia M May 11, 2021

I've recently started using the Smartsheet connector for Jira and writing a use case. Has anyone else used this? I'd be interested in hearing information and experience if anyone has anything to share.

8 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

0 votes
Answer accepted
Tina Kosur June 13, 2023

I have 2 years of deep experience using the SS+JIRA connector for project plans for large software implementations. Like many folks on this post, I too have developed all of my knowledge via trial and error (and massive amounts of data loss).  I second everything that's been said above and note that there is no improvement to virtually anything written in this post in the last couple years.

SS's customer support and willingness to improve or evolve this connector is non-existent. 

With that said, I have much to share and will be doing that over time post by post regarding the connector and things to know.  Today is June 13th 2023 and SmartSheet's documented response to me states their stance continues to be that they will not consider any of the following requests for their SmartSheet + JIRA Connector roadmap:

1. Add the ability to change owners or provide editor or evenview access to workflow connectors (this is highly problematic, particularly when unexpected absences occur and your security policy does not allow creation of shared/corp admin accounts.
  2. Add an indicator in the SmartSheet user interface that identifies columns that are mapped between JIRA & SmartSheet (including direction of data flow)
  3. Any sort of "Restore" capability, ability to revert back to a previous version, etc.
  4. Improve JIRA connector trouble shooting capabilities and features, examples:
    1. provide a field mapping snapshot that can be easily shared with others rather than having to scroll and screenshot