You're on your way to the next level! Join the Kudos program to earn points and save your progress.
Level 1: Seed
25 / 150 points
1 badge earned
Challenges come and go, but your rewards stay with you. Do more to earn more!
What goes around comes around! Share the love by gifting kudos to your peers.
Keep earning points to reach the top of the leaderboard. It resets every quarter so you always have a chance!
Join now to unlock these features and more
Users in JA are created through the Integrated Connector or through manual processes (manual process may include either a single user creation, upload of user information or through API functions).
Users in JA can only be deactivated through the manual processes (not through the Integrated Connector). Deactivated users can be viewed/edited in the same location in Align (Administration → People) however in order to perform any actions with a deactivated user on the UI the admin will need to use a filter for “Deactivated” = Yes.
Does not change, however the deactivated indicator excludes them from the active user count and does include them in the license count (Integrated user or Full User).
Toggles for the system role remain unchanged.
As toggles are updated for that system role they would apply to the deactivated user, if/when reactivated.
If/When reactivated their system role is kept intact.
Membership stays intact at the People Record, but is hidden from the Team Membership UI.
Example: Mickey Mouse is a Developer on the Avengers Team and a Team of Teams member on the AI Program.
Mickey is deactivated on 10/1/2022.
An admin reviewing Mickeys People Profile would still see Mickey as a Developer for Avengers and Team of Teams member for AI.
A user re-viewing either the Avengers Team or AI Program Team record would not see Mickey as an active member, nor would they be able to add Mickey as a member.
If/When reactivated the Membership to those Teams would be reinstated in the same Team Role as prior to deactivation.
|Before Deactivation||After Deactivation|
Deactivated users are not removed from any issue ownership, but are unable to be actively selected as owners on new records.
The connector integration violates the UI suppression of deactivated users.
This is to say that if the deactivated Align user is the Assignee/Reporter on an issue in Jira the connector would still assign that deactivated user as the Owner/Reporter.
If/When reactivated the ability to manually select the user as an Owner is reestablished.
Issues that the reactivated user is already an Owner of stay with that Owner.
|Before Deactivation||After Deactivation|
|Feature Owner (already defined as the User who will be deactivated)|
|Feature Owner (already defined as a different user)|
Align supports historical data, understanding that people/work/time are finite and deactivation of a user does not negatively impact any of the internal reporting.
This includes any display/view that would be historical by a person, while the deactivated user cannot be selected in any space where a user would need to be selected their data is not negatively impacted by deactivation.
Once a user is deactivated they will be unable to take any actions in Align (as they are denied log-in abilities).
If/when a deactivated user is reactivated they regain all functions they had prior to deactivation.
Where either System Role Toggles, Team Active (Yes/No), and/or Jira Align functionality has changed (post deactivation) are all applied to the user based upon those settings at the time of reactivation.
If the System Role the user was in at the time of Deactivation had the ability to Delete Jira Epics and prior to their Reactivation the same System Role had the ability to Delete Jira Epics removed; then the user (upon reactivation) would not have the ability to Delete Jira Epics.
If the user was a member of Team Avengers at the time of Deactivation and prior to Reactivation Team Avengers is toggled to Active = No then upon Reactivation while they would be a member of the team they would be unable to make updates (just like other active users).
Jira Align does not update the User Record in Jira. Deactivating a user in Align will not deactivate them in Jira.
Likewise disabling a user in Jira will not Deactivate the user in Align.
Deactivation in Algin will not negatively impact Jira data.
Project Membership, Project Roles, etc…in Jira remain the sole governance inside Jira.