Pros and Cons of self-hosted vs. cloud-hosted service for Jira Service Desk

Jessica Wilson January 28, 2020

Hi All,

I am new to all things Jira Service Desk (and Atlassian, or that matter) and have been asked to investigate what some potential pros and cons might be about moving from our self-hosted service to a cloud-based service option. 

Wondering if anyone could offer some thoughts or experiences in relation to this topic. I appreciate anything feedback you are able to offer!

Jessica Wilson

Manager, Help Desk Services

Valparaiso University

3 comments

Lenin Raj
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 28, 2020

Hi @Jessica Wilson 

Cloud based solutions are easier to setup and the infrastructure is managed by Atlassian. You'll automatically receive the latest updates frequently.

For a detailed comparison, please check https://confluence.atlassian.com/confeval/jira-service-desk-evaluator-resources/jira-service-desk-what-are-the-feature-differences-between-server-and-cloud

Like # people like this
Sven Schatter _Lively Apps_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
January 29, 2020

Neither Cloud or Server are clearly just better. It always depends on what you need and how you want to use the product.

As @Lenin Raj already mentioned, Cloud requires no maintenance and infrastructure which is especially nice if you're a small team.