"Create JIRA issue" pop-up link error

When highlighting a word or phrase in Confluence 5.7 a pop-up to "Add inline comment" and "Create JIRA issue" appear.

When I click "Create JIRA issue", it shows the following message:

++++++

Create Issue

You do not have permission to access any projects in JIRA

++++++

I am an administrator for both our Confluence and JIRA systems.  I should add that in Confluence, our JIRA is defined in the Application Links page.

The system installed JIRA Macros add-on has all its 34 modules enabled.

Has anybody experienced the same problem?

Thanks,

Doods

2 answers

Unlike the simple permission structure in Confluence of users and groups, JIRA has users, groups, project roles and issue roles.  Being a JIRA admin doesn't guarantee that you'll have any rights to, for example, create issues.

The permissions overview documentation and managing project permissions documentation should help you figure it out.  It looks like you don't have the Create Issue permissions in any project, but that can be changed at user, group, project role or issue role level.

(JIRA permissions are very complex, especially if you're not familiar with them, so don't lose heart if it takes you a while to get to grips with them.  It takes everyone a while to get to grips with them.)

Thanks Rob.  I feel compelled to state that I have been a JIRA Admin since version 1 of this tool.

Anyway, I did some diggings and found this Confluence documentation:  https://confluence.atlassian.com/doc/jira-issues-macro-139380.html.

I am convinced that we are seeing this error due to our complex Field Configuration Scheme, among others.

I am disabling this module so we don't get to see the corresponding icon.

Regards!

Hi Doods,

Apologies, most of the time people ask this kind of question it's because they're not aware of the complexities of the permissions scheme. That's clearly not the case for you smile

Suggest an answer

Community showcase