Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a way to use a template multiple times in a page?

Michael Glatter-Götz April 12, 2012

Hi!

I'm quite new to Confluence and am evaluating this system for our company right now. Now I can't figure out how to do the following thing:

Is there a possibility to make a reusable template-like thing that I can use in a page? With templates I can only create a new page but can't use it as part of a page.

1 answer

1 vote
Andrew Frayling
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 12, 2012

Hi,

You're right that templates can only be used to create a new page, but a standard workaround to do what you're trying to do is the following:

1. Create a page at the root of the Space called "_includes" or similar
2. Create relevant pages underneath the "_includes" page, 1 for each snippet that you want to re-use
3. Populate these pages with the relevant content snippets
4. Use the {include} macro on your real pages to include the relevant snippet(s)

Does that make sense?

Andrew.

Michael Glatter-Götz April 12, 2012

Thanks for the answer. But I'm afraid your solution is not what I want: If I had _includes\Snippet1 and include that snippet in two other pages then I can't edit the snippet there. I want something like a template where I can fill in missing text fields/images/whatever but each "derivative" of the template should be independent from the others.

Andrew Frayling
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 12, 2012