Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to restrict some users to specific pages in Confluence

AFM Atlassian November 11, 2018

Hi

I have created a Confluence Space but I only want a subset of the users to access a few pages.  I don't want this subset of users to access any of the other pages in the Space.

I know that I can can set all the existing pages to be Restricted Pages and that Read permissions are inherited but the problem is the Edit permissions are not.  I don't want to have to constantly set restricted permissions on newly created pages.  I'm an administrator and I know that users will create pages and not remember to set permissions (this is what administrators are for).

I found the following discussion and created a separate Space as work-around for those subset of users to use and followed Step 2 to create a separate Space and restrict that subset of users to that separate Space but when I test it by logging on as one of those users I can still see all the pages from the original Space.

Surely there is a simple way to grant access for a subset of users to specific pages that doesn't require ongoing maintenance.

Thanks

Greg

2 answers

0 votes
Maeneth January 11, 2023

To view or edit a confluence page does required license?

Will the conluence users whos having access will see all the confluence space? how to restrict it?  to reduce the billing cost?

0 votes
Mesut Yilmazyildirim
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 11, 2018

Hi Gret,

You can create pages with different permissions and create sub pages under primary pages.

I am creating a user group for every single project with all rights

I have a structure as below:

Page: Anonymous (Permission : Anonymous can view)

Page: Internal (Permission: Only for specific user group)