Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get left navigation back on home page

Janet Dixon September 1, 2021

I somehow originally set the left navigation pane/sidebar to be hidden when users first visited the site.  I now want to display it and can't for the life of me figure out how to undo this.    When all the spaces are visited, the left sidebar is display.  It's only when first arriving at the site that it currently doesn't display.

2 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Jacob Brunson
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 1, 2021

Hi Janet,

My name is Jacob and I'm a Confluence developer who has worked on this functionality. It sounds like you have selected a space as your "Site Homepage" in Confluence settings (under "Further Configuration").

Unfortunately, there is no setting to control whether or not the left navigation sidebar is shown. A custom Site Homepage will always hide the left navigation.

If you let me know a little more about your use case, I can share your feedback directly with the engineering team. Feel free to reply here or to reach out to me privately at jbrunson@atlassian.com

In case it helps, I can also share a technical detail. When users land on the custom homepage, there is a `?mode=global` parameter in the URL. Removing this parameter will cause the sidebar to show.

For example, this URL would have a hidden sidebar:

https://example.atlassian.com/wiki/spaces/ABC/overview?mode=global

While this URL would show the sidebar:

https://example.atlassian.com/wiki/spaces/ABC/overview

@Jacob BrunsonI just discovered that.  Thanks for the tip on the URL!

Alison Frane March 2, 2022

I have created a workaround for this. It's not particularly pretty, but workarounds seldom are.