How to change the display name of a user (assignee)?

Bhavik.Shah September 19, 2024

Hi 

I recently created 3 new Jira Agents/Assignee accounts for 3 respective Development teams. Note the accounts created are Outlook Distribution lists and not an inbox, so one cannot login using these emails in Atlassian.

The assignee "dev-platform-engineering" has got created in smaller case for some reason, unlike the other 2 accounts (attached screenshot). I would like to update the Assignee name to appear with the starting words in upper case as "Dev-Platform-Engineering". Within Atlassian as an admin I cannot find a way to edit this name. I also tried the option of "Remove user from site" and recreating it as "Dev-Platform-Engineering" but it does not change the display name as it activates back the old removed account.

Any suggestions how to fix this? update display name dev-platform-engineering to uppr case.jpg

remove user.jpg

See attached screenshots for details.

2 answers

1 vote
Manoj Gangwar
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 19, 2024

Hi @Bhavik_Shah 

To resolve the issue of the case sensitivity for the assignee name in Jira, you can follow these steps:

1. User Management in Atlassian Admin:

• Go to your Atlassian Admin Console.
    • Navigate to User management and then Users.
    • Search for the account "dev-platform-engineering".
  2. Edit the Display Name:

• In some Atlassian products, the display name might be editable directly from the user management section. If you see an option to edit the display name, change it to "Dev-Platform-Engineering".
    • If this option is not available, it might be tied to how the email/username was originally set.
  3. Check Group Memberships: