How do I delete a space as a confluence administrator?

Lancy Quadros December 27, 2011

I have a space that I wish to delete. Unfortunately, the two space admins assigned to it no longer work for us! As a confluence administrator, I do not see the option to delete the space. Has anybody run into a similar issue?

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Jobin Kuruvilla [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 27, 2011

Add yourself into the confluence-administrators group and then you should have the space admin rights!

I was hoping so - but as I mentioned, I am already a confluence-administrator and I see the 'Confluence Admin' option under browse, but not the 'Space Admin' option.

Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 27, 2011

Oh ok. I thought you are a Confluence Admin but not a member of the confluence-administrators group. You can be a Confluence Admin even if you are not a part of that group but then you won't become a space admin on all the spaces! If you are part of that purticular group, you should have the rights to administer all spaces. Maybe you can raise a case with Atlassian.

Thank you Jobin! I checked again - I noticed that I was not part of the confluence-administrators group. However, my LDAP group was in the Global groups with the exact same privileges as 'confluence-administrators', so, I am not sure why I was missing the 'Space Admin' option under the Browse menu.

Rising Star
Rising Star
December 27, 2011

Confluence-Administrators - This is a 'super-group' and a user from this group has permission to do anything in the site regardless of any other setting.