Create a forum in Confluence

Jason Turner
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 3, 2013

I am a new confluence/jira admin and would like to create a forum in Confluence but the capability isn't jumping out at me and I don't see it in the documentation. Does Confluence (on-demand) support the create of forums? If so please point me in the right direction

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Mick Davidson
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 3, 2013

Jason,

I'm not sure about on-demand gives you, but the only forum I know about comes as a plugin made by, I think, Adaptavist. I believe it is free and if you have some technical aptitude, you should be able to set it up. If not, I found the people at Adaptavist to be very helpful.

You can create a kind of forum by using the blogging feature, that is space-specific, as opposed to being something you can hide within a space. So if everyone who has access to the space are also ok to access the blog, you could try that too.

Cheers

0 votes
Abdoulaye Kindy Diallo
Rising Star
Rising Star
May 5, 2013

Jason,

You can refer to this documentation on using Confluence as a forum: https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/DISC/Confluence+as+a+Forum. However, as Mick highlighted it's a 3rd party plugin which is not bundled in OnDemand as far as I know. Hence it's an option for Standalone.

You may wanna also have a look at this content: https://confluence.atlassian.com/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=157232

Roger Chambers July 17, 2015