Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Confluence Editor broken with large pages

The old version of the page editor seems to break with large pages that have lots of images.

All I get is the useless bad UX It's taking longer than usual to load this page error, which is a lie because it's a bug with confluence.

It seems like activationid-services is returning a 429 too many requests error for some reason but only when editing large pages.

PS: Also your JavaScript is really poorly optimized their is way to many requests no wonder the page takes so long to load.

PPS: I would submit a bug report but thats broken as well.

1 answer

0 votes

Hello Phil,

Thank you for bringing this to us. We'll need to take a look at the pages in question because it can depend on how the images are attached and any other macros on the page. 

I saw you mentioned submitting a bug report isn't working. What was the problem you had submitting a ticket? I assume you're referring to the contact form for Support and not our bug tracking system, Is that correct? 

It's possible to submit bugs and other requests via support, but you need to be a product or site admin to create a ticket. Take a look at Atlassian Support Offerings for details, referring to the table under Support Entitlements (who can raise support requests). Once we can confirm the issue as a bug, Support will open a bug ticket on

I looked at the information associated with your account, and it doesn't appear that you are a product or site admin for the linked Cloud account. Therefore, I recommend you report this issue to one of your product or site admins so that they can raise a ticket with Cloud Support.

Thank you, and take care!


Yeah it was through the contact form.  It just state the site url wasn't valid nothing about me having to be a site admin to use the form.

I generally don't use a lot of macros but could be related to lots of images on a page as that is common.  One thing to note is that other people where updating the page and adding images while i was editing it.  Not sure if that makes a difference.

I've copied the existing page and re-done most of the edited changes which seemed like the easiest way to fix it.

Hi Phil,

Thank you for clarifying that. We can certainly look into that in the support ticket; I don't want to ask you how you entered your site URL on a public forum. 

Let me know if your admin has any trouble raising the case. They shouldn't have the same issue because the form doesn't ask for a URL if they're logged in as an admin. You can have them add your user as a participant when they create the ticket.

Thanks again, and take care.


Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Community showcase
Published in Confluence

🏑 Atlympic Event: Confluence

Hello Community!  Quick disclaimer: We are running a contest on Community (The Atlympics!) from July 23rd - August 8th of 2021. If you are interested in participating in this contest (prizes! ...

177 views 6 8
Read article

Community Events

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find an event

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.

Host an event

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local event. Learn more about Community Events

Events near you