Template talk #1: How do you use Confluence Page templates?

Dilani Kahawala
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 29, 2019

Hi Community!

My name is Dilani and I'm a Product Manager on the Confluence team. We are trying to understand how to make the experience of using templates in Confluence better. Over the coming weeks, we’ll be making a series of posts to understand how you use templates.

To kick things off, we’d love to know:

1. What do you use Confluence Page templates for? (e.g. get new team members started quickly, or to create the same page again and again quickly)

2. What are your biggest pain points around using Page templates in Confluence?

The more details, the better!

11 comments

Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 29, 2019
  1.  We typically just use templates to create the same kind of page on a regular basis.
  2. The main pain points I see for templates is that they are a bit too limited. I think what could make them even more useful would be the ability to use variables in the page title and the ability to use variables in macro parameters. This would make templates much more usable. Right now I have to put in instructional text and hope my users follow the instructions ... which rarely happens.

Also, you keep track of template versions in the database. Why not expose that like you do for pages and allow people to see and rollback to previous versions?