It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage
Highlighted

Can we upgrade confluence server from 3.5.16 to 6.15.8??

Hi Team,

I have a confluence server 3.5.16 in Server A(This is windows 2008R2 server) , can i install confluence server 6.15.8 in Server B(This is windows 2016R2 server) and move the contents from one server to another as this document suggests https://confluence.atlassian.com/doc/migrating-confluence-between-servers-184150.html .Please suggest what steps to take im new to confluence.

Regards,

Abhishek B A

2 comments

Hi @Abhishek B A , 

It's not advised to perform the upgrade from Confluence Server v3.5.16 to 6.15.8 in one hop.

Since the older version of Confluence v3.5.16 uses the wiki markup language and version above 4.3.7 use the XHTML based storage format.

Therefore, you will have to go through multiple hops to perform the Upgrade successfully. 

Ideally, I would suggest to go with 4 hop upgrade.

3.5.16 -> 4.2.7 --> 4.3.7  --> 5.10.x --> 6.15.8

You can refer to this Atlassian KB for migration from wiki markup language to XHTML.

https://confluence.atlassian.com/doc/migration-from-wiki-markup-to-xhtml-based-storage-format-255363895.html

Thanks,

Kiran.

Like Abhishek B A likes this

Hi @Kiran Panduga (Appfire)  we'll try the same but we want to move the confluence from Server A to Server B also what do u suggest .....we do the upgrade in Server A(Which has Confluence 3.5.16 in Windows 2008R2) to 6.15.8 and then move it Server B .

Regards,

Abhishek B A

Hi @Abhishek B A , 

Yes, Perform the upgrade 3.5.16 -> 4.2.7 --> 4.3.7  --> 5.10.x --> 6.15.8 in Server A and then migrate Confluence v6.15.8 to Server B.

Thanks,

Kiran.

Like Abhishek B A likes this