Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Atlassian helps Mercy Ships stay afloat

Hi everyone, I'm Bridget! I'm brand new to the Atlassian Community team, and my sole focus is to bring you content that will enhance your professional + personal use of the Atlassian tools. My first project is to start a Community Showcase––bringing you weekly stories of how members of this Community use Atlassian products to achieve some pretty incredible things. 

And those things will have a wide range––I hope to cover things ranging from how NASA uses Bamboo to put rovers on Mars to how a Dungeon Master uses Trello for all his D+D organizational needs. Atlassian users tackle teamwork with creativity and genius, and with every different use case comes a new set of learnings––this new Community weekly post is meant to act both as a means to celebrate some users and educate others.

First to the plate is a case study on an international NGO, Mercy Ships, with 1200 staff and volunteers providing humanitarian aid to the world's poor via the largest civilian hospital ship. For over 35 years, Mercy Ships has delivered free healthcare to people in developing nations via the world’s largest civilian hospital ship, equipped with volunteer medical teams and sterile operating rooms. 

Confluence has become the central hub for everyone involved with Mercy Ships. Employees post internal news and announcements, that range from company-wide updates to someone looking for a babysitter or a jogging partner. When coworkers are often half a world away from one another, Confluence unifies and organizes disparate teams. 

Confluence use cases include: 

• Recruitment + Training
    • Mercy Ships HR team tracks promising candidates, interviews, approvals, and new employee vaccine schedules.
  • Reference docs for employees can find information about Mercy Ships, as well as best practices on traveling and working on the ship.