Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

⏰Would page *read time* be helpful for you in Confluence?

droo
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 24, 2020

👋Hi there, I'm a designer on Confluence and would love to hear your opinion about read time. (Imagine, for example, something like "6 minute read" shown below a page title).

Would you find it helpful to know about how big a page is or how long it'll take to read?

When would you find this helpful? (Eg. When a page has just been published? When you're comparing different pages? When you're scrolling through blogs? When a page has been shared with you?)

🙏

7 comments

Comment

JimmyVanAU
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 24, 2020

Yes. I use Pocket all the time, and it indicates the length of how long it predicts it will take a page to be read. If it's short, I will probably read it now. If it's long, I'll snooze the tab/save to Pocket or somehow remind myself to read long content later.

It's helpful when I first encounter the content, so as soon as the page loads, at the top, under the title, along with author, it'll give me an indicative guide. Would also be helpful in email notifications, so when page is published/I'm mentioned in a comment on a page I am not watching

Like droo likes this
RPT Admin
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 25, 2020