Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you use parent pages heavily? The Confluence team wants to talk to you!

Hi everyone,

My name's Ned, and I'm a product manager on Confluence working on organization & navigation. Right now, we're in the midst of thinking deeply about how our top customers organize their spaces — more specifically, how they use parent pages, as well as the pros and cons of parent pages versus more traditional container types used in other products.

If you use parent pages heavily at your customer or have opinions to share on the above, then I'd love to chat with you! 

Please book any time here that's convenient for you.

Thanks!

Ned

16 comments

Comment

Keith Sottung February 20, 2024

Hello,  I just signed up. 

Here is my take/concerns/thoughts on parent pages...

I come at this with the idea of leveraging Confluence for 2 solutions.  My organization develops software or some kind of business solution that uses software.  For any business, they will need to write up how a user should use the software.  Or how a Trainer should teach out t use the software. 

When using confluence to create manuals (user or training) you will want to leverage the Export to PDF, not just at the page level but the space level.  (export selected pages and have the pdf export create a custom TOC.) 

Parent Pages can both be helpful to the export to pdf option or an obstacle. Often when a parent page is created, a display child page macro is added.  The question is how does that help? It might if the user is "drill navigating" to find information. It doesn't help if the need is to create and custom manual using the Space export to PDF. It creates an un-necessary page of information in the exported pdf. 

The parent page too, also creates addition search result when a user it looking to find information.