Hi All I'm new here! Time reports

Maureen Gilchrist December 7, 2022

I'm new to Jira as our team's 'admin' - but can't figure out a way to produce a report for time logged against multiple jira's, say, for one resource - love some tips!

Merry Christmas!

6 comments

Comment

Tom Vanhout December 7, 2022

Install the tempo app. The best there is. 

BC December 7, 2022

Hello Maureen welcome! I will say this, with Jira there are several ways to track time. Out of the box Jira's native time tracking is mainly focused on time spent on an issue vs an individual's personal time logs. For example, looking inside the issue's time tracking section, it will show you how much time was spent working on the issue but not necessarily which individuals logged the time and how much they logged. Couple of options:

1. Tracking time for a resource - you can get creative with the native tools. For ex. assign an issue to a resource and whatever time is logged, we can assume that resource logged it. There are certainly issues with this approach but hopefully you get the point

2. Tracking Individual or a Team's time - Usually requires a type of timesheet app from the marketplace. These apps allow you to track time on an individual or team level and run reports. 

Hope this helps!

Like # people like this
Maureen Gilchrist December 9, 2022

Thanks @BC  - I'll look on the marketplace again, I tested a few apps but nothing got me what I need - we are a PS type org and in the coming year will need to produce timesheets for our customers, so I'm looking to be able to pull time logged against one or many tasks/subtasks for a specific customer!

Andreas Springer
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 7, 2022

Hi @Maureen Gilchrist and welcome! :)