Atlassian Jessica Ray shares a family recipe, her Nana's famous oatmeal cookies 🍪

We're continuing our Atlassian Bake Off series by showcasing recipes from Atlassians! Today, @Jessica Ray shares how baking has been and has become a strong part of her family's traditions with fond memories and some lovely pictures.

Hi, Jessica! Tell us about your role and team at Atlassian.

Hi Everyone! I am a Customer Success Manager here at Atlassian. My role is to help our customers get the most value out of our tools. I am here for guidance, advocacy and to be an Atlassian Partner.

We heard you love to bake! How did you start learning, and what do you love most about it?

nana.jpg

Nana and my grandfather, "Macko"

I learned to bake with my Grandmother whom we called Nana. As a kid she lived just a few minutes away, and I spent a lot of time at her house and specifically in her kitchen. We loved to make cookies, cakes, and mac and cheese (I know, not really baking, but it counts).

I love that still to this day when I bake, it reminds me of her, and I have been able to pass that love of cooking along to my nieces (somehow the baking gene skipped my sister 😉).

Here is a picture of my grandparents, and my nieces with a Peeps cake we made a few years ago for Easter and our Chocolate Pie that we make for most special occasions.

tradition.png

Tradition continues, baking with my nieces Gigi and Madison

Do you have a favorite recipe that you’d like to share?

My grandmother and I loved to make her famous oatmeal cookies and my whole family can't get enough of them. They taste like Christmas to me (but we eat them all year 'round). 🍪

Nana's Oatmeal Cookies:

• 1 cup Crisco or margarine (softened)
  • 2.5 cups of packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 3 cups of flour
  • 2 tsp of baking soda
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 3 cups of oatmeal
  • 1 cup of chopped pecans (optional)