"This is not a valid source path / URL" when connecting directly from Bitbucket

A colleague set up a repository on Bitbucket and invited me to join. I've never used Bitbucket before, but registered and was able to view the project pages and source.

I followed the link to download SourceTree (on Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1), went through the setup wizard, and installed the internal Git and Mercurial packages. Now I'm clicking the SourceTree link directly in the Bitbucket page, but SourceTree states ""This is not a valid source path / URL" in the clone repository dialogue. There is a "Details" button next to the message, which simply produces an empty dialogue box.

This also happens if I browse in the "Hosted Repositories" dialogue. How can the path be invalid, if it's directly produced by the Bitbucket website or the SourceTree browsing process? What do I do next?

10 answers

1 accepted

Thanks for the reply. Although not strictly a version issue, the first link provided some help. When SourceTree started for the first time, I skipped setting up Git & Mercurial in the wizard. Then I reran the wizard and chose to download and install the embedded packages. But it seems installing those didn't actually enable them - in the Tools -> Options dialogue they were both disabled! Enabling Mercurial allowed the clone dialogue to correctly identify the repo.

Shouldn't they have been enabled after installing the embedded packages through the wizard?

I couldn't agree more. Specially when there is no instruction to tell you to enable it. This should be done automatically or at least the help icon should tell you to check this.

Thanks, in my case i had external git so I switch to 'use system git' - version of git shows up, dialog "this is not valid source path" disapear and finally i can clone repo.

Thank you for your reply!!
I updated both embedded stuff (Mercurial and Git) and it finally worked!! :-)

Thanks again and have a great day y'all ;-) B-)