Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pushing commits to master via SourceTree, on Windows machine, not recognised on master.

Marcus Cattanach
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
March 8, 2021

Hi,

First of all, I am relatively new to version control, so I hope I am describing my issues below correctly, sorry if I am not. 

I am working off two machines, one Mac and the other Windows. I have used the Windows machine to push changes to my master repo with the use of SourceTree. For some reason the changes are not getting recognised by my master repo and therefore when I shift to using the Mac there is nothing to pull. This issue has only just become evident recently and up until now, I have had no problem. 

The reason I have to shift between machines is that I am sharing my wife's Mac with her, and when she working, I have to use the Widows machine. 

Thanks in advance, 

Marcus. 

1 answer

0 votes
Daniel Eads
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 9, 2021

Hi @Marcus Cattanach , welcome to the Community!

With git, it's possible to commit to the local master/main branch without pushing to remote/origin. I'd first recommend checking in Sourcetree on the Windows machine to see if you see your latest commits when clicking through the sidebar to select Remotes > origin > master.

From there, I'd suggest looking at your repository in the web interface at bitbucket.org - if you don't see the latest commits there, they didn't push.

Finally, you can try a Fetch on the Mac. This should load all the information from bitbucket.org so if things did get out of sync somehow, the latest commits will be available before you do the pull operation.