Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error after Bitbucket 7.18.3 upgrade.

Khang Pham February 5, 2022

I am relatively new to administering Bitbucket and would like some input. I have just upgraded bitbucket from 6.10 to 7.18.3. The upgrade itself seems okay, however upon starting the bitbucket service, I noticed that there are 2 logs which caught my eye and wondering if these are of any concern:

1. /opt/atlassian/bitbucket/7.18.3/elasticsearch/bin/elasticsearch: line 43: bin/elasticsearch-keystore: Permission denied

Is anyone able to clarify what the elasticsearch-keystore does? I have checked the permissions on it and confirmed it has the same permissions as the user starting the bitbucket service. 

2. The current open files limit is set to less than 6192
Attempting to increase limit...
/opt/atlassian/bitbucket/7.18.3/bin/_start-webapp.sh: line 63: ulimit: open files: cannot modify limit: Operation not permitted

I believe this is used for admin to set resource usage, however not too sure what particular error indicates. 

Anyone able to explain the 2 errors and possible fix for them? Should these be of any concern?

I've tried looking for these errors in the KBs but not much luck. 

3 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Craig Steadman February 10, 2022

Change into the folder and double check the rights on the files and also see if the will execute manually.  The line 43: bin/elasticsearch-keystore: Permission denied  error cleared up for me after give the files execute rights.

Khang Pham February 10, 2022

The permissions are correctly assigned to the elasticsearch. After stopping the service and running it manually, it gave me a java error, but after starting the bb service again, the line 43: bin/elasticsearch-keystore: Permission denied  error is no longer appearing!

Thanks @Craig Steadman , this seems to have solved the first issue. Any idea on the second issue?