Upgrade Best Practices

Hello!

My name is Mark Askew and I am a Premier Support Engineer for products Bitbucket Server/Data Center, Fisheye & Crucible.

Today, I want to bring the discussion that Jennifer, Matt, and myself had on the sparsely updated Admins of Atlassian podcast to Community: Upgrade Best Practices. Below you will find an accumulation of our tips and best practices for upgrading your environments.

This is a big post and while not originally conceived for a written format, I took some highlights from the episode and a presentation I gave to the Austin Atlassian User Group to share here.

And away we go!

Disclaimer: The below info is not product specific and does not replace what we may include in our upgrade guides or other pieces of official documentation. It’s more meant to share from a few of our collective experiences to add to your own. This is certainly not a comprehensive guide as I know there are some awesome tips and best practices that you all have as well.

Why You Should Upgrade

We HAVE to start with this. All environments are not the same. New admins may have a vague idea of why they should upgrade, others may take an “if it’s not broke, don’t fix” approach. (I’ve personally had to battle this in my past careers) Some may want to upgrade but need a little help in providing that business justification to their management. All in all, there are four main reasons you should upgrade your applications:

Bugs, Features, Security & Support

Bugs - Each release contains bugs we’ve squashed and fixed. These could be bugs that never triggered in your system or bugs that are currently impacting your workflow now.