Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating Epic Link via automation

Sean Wiese August 17, 2020

I am new to Jira Automation, and working on a scenario where on a transition, I am creating linked tickets. The original ticket is part of an epic, and I would like that epic to also be on the newly created tickets. 

Happy to provide additional details. 

screenshot is the relevant portion I am stuck on. 

Screen Shot 2020-08-17 at 5.36.01 PM.png

2 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Mark Chaimungkalanont
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
August 17, 2020

Hey there Sean,

You should be able to set the Original estimate and the Epic Link in the Create issue action itself without need the extra Edit actions. You need to set the value of the Epic Link to the "Trigger issue"

If editing the Epic Link isn't working, are you using a NextGen project? They deal with Epic Links differently to Classic projects

Cheers,

Mark C

Sean Wiese August 18, 2020

Mark - that was def my first choice to set all the things in the create. but I ended up with the edit action since that seemed the only way to get the Orig Est field to work.

added details of the create and the whole trigger. 

Not using a next-gen project. 

I may just not be groking the "copy from" term, as I dont see that in the epic link options. 

also attached. 

Screen Shot 2020-08-18 at 8.38.21 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-08-18 at 8.35.55 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-08-18 at 8.37.39 AM.png

and solved. I guess I just didnt see the field to set as a "copy from" action. seems to be working now, in the create action!

0 votes
Stephen Wright _Elabor8_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 17, 2020

Hi @Sean Wiese