Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

How can I pull the email address from the Description section of an Issue for an anonymous user?

I created an Issue Collector for our Front Door Request process. The Issue Collector was embedded in a Wiki page. 80% of employees submitting a request will be Anonymous. How can I capture their email in the Description section so I can setup an Automation that will send them notification as the issues transitions from Open Status to Closed?

I am a Project Administrator (not a Jira Admin). Below is the results of smart values query:

Description: {{issue.fields.description}}

Description:

Test

*Reporter*: Carl Vernon

*E-Mail*: [mailto:cv1356@abc.com]

I have tried the following without success:

Email: {{#issues}}{{issueCollector.email}}{{/issues}}
Email: {{issue.MailtoCustomer.value}}
Reporter: {{issue.description.match("Reporter:\s(.*)")}}
Email: {{issue.description.match("E-mail:\s(.*)")}}
Email: {{issue.description.match("([a-z]+@[a-z]+\.[a-z]{2,4})")}}
Email: {{issue.description.email}}

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted

I figured it out. I used a Smart Value string query to pull the email from the Description section of the Issue Collector:

{{issue.description.substringBetween("o:","]")}} 

Description:

Test

*Reporter*: Carl Vernon

*E-Mail*: [mailto:cv1356@abc.com]

RESULTS: cv1356@abc.com

I then created an automation with the Create Trigger and used the Smart Value string query in the To: field of the Send Email component.

Capture.JPGCapture2.JPG

I was looking for this for ages... thank you! 

Here is a smart value to extract Name from the issue collector as well: {{issue.description.substringBetween("*: ","\n")}}

Suggest an answer

TAGS
Community showcase
Published in Jira Automation