Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I pull the email address from the Description section of an Issue for an anonymous user?

Ileana Reyes-Buchholz October 30, 2020

I created an Issue Collector for our Front Door Request process. The Issue Collector was embedded in a Wiki page. 80% of employees submitting a request will be Anonymous. How can I capture their email in the Description section so I can setup an Automation that will send them notification as the issues transitions from Open Status to Closed?

I am a Project Administrator (not a Jira Admin). Below is the results of smart values query:

Description: {{issue.fields.description}}

Description:

Test

*Reporter*: Carl Vernon

*E-Mail*: [mailto:cv1356@abc.com]

I have tried the following without success:

Email: {{#issues}}{{issueCollector.email}}{{/issues}}
Email: {{issue.MailtoCustomer.value}}
Reporter: {{issue.description.match("Reporter:\s(.*)")}}
Email: {{issue.description.match("E-mail:\s(.*)")}}
Email: {{issue.description.match("([a-z]+@[a-z]+\.[a-z]{2,4})")}}
Email: {{issue.description.email}}

1 answer

1 accepted

7 votes
Answer accepted
Ileana Reyes-Buchholz November 3, 2020

I figured it out. I used a Smart Value string query to pull the email from the Description section of the Issue Collector:

{{issue.description.substringBetween("o:","]")}} 

Description:

Test

*Reporter*: Carl Vernon

*E-Mail*: [mailto:cv1356@abc.com]

RESULTS: cv1356@abc.com

I then created an automation with the Create Trigger and used the Smart Value string query in the To: field of the Send Email component.

Capture.JPGCapture2.JPG

Krzysztof Skrzypczyk April 28, 2021

I was looking for this for ages... thank you! 

Here is a smart value to extract Name from the issue collector as well: {{issue.description.substringBetween("*: ","\n")}}

Prasad Kawadkar March 31, 2022

This is amazing and super helpful.