Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evaluating Else-if when If matches

Tom De Blende October 4, 2023

I was changing an existing rule to add a few checks to limit the amount of "Success" executions. And I was puzzled at first. It turned out that a ticket matched the If-block, automation changed a custom field to a value that made the Else-if block match while at the start of the execution it didn't.

Now, I'm not a programmer, but I would have expected that if the If matches, it would stop evaluating Else-if. Which is not the case here.

So I was wondering, is this by design, or not? :) 

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 4, 2023

Hi @Tom De Blende 

For a question like this, I recommend posting images of your complete rule (in one image) and of the audit log details showing the rule execution.  Those will provide context for the community to offer suggestions.  Thanks!

Until we see those...

Conditions in rules have two possible impacts on processing: stop or keep going.  And so the structure of the rule and conditions is important.  For example:

• trigger...
  • condition...
    • some action

In this case, the action only happens if the condition is met.

• trigger...
  • if/else condition 1...
    • some action A
  • else/if condition 2
    • some action B
  • else
    • some action C
  • some action D

For this one, only A or B or C will happen, followed by D happening.