Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My cloud Migration Journey

Hello Everyone, 

I am Deepanshu, I am an Atlassian Consultant at Modus Create. I have helped multiple organizations successfully migrate to Atlassian Cloud. And this weekend, my own organization is migrating to Atlassian Cloud. I and my team have been waiting for this for months and we are very excited that it's finally happening now. Here are more details:

• Company & your role?
    • Modus Create, Atlassian Consultant

• Size of your company?
    • ~500

• Atlassian products your team uses?
    • Jira, Jira Service Management, Confluence, Trello, BitBucket

• Which teams use Atlassian products - dev, non-dev, both?
    • Both

• Integrations or key apps?
    • Integration with BitBucket, Harvest, GitHub, LucidChart, Google Drive
  • What surprised you most about the migration to cloud?
    • Excellent support from Atlassian, Ease of use of CCMA for migration of Confluence.
  • What technical a-ha moment helped you get across the finish line?
    • Having sandbox to test the migration before we do it for the production has really helped a lot eliminating any issues while we are doing it for production.
    • A utility by Atlassian which helps to migrate attachments from Jira server to cloud
  • What advice would you give other customers starting a migration? What do you wish you’d known?
    • Spend considerable time on planning the migration of marketplace apps. 
    • Do at least a couple of test migrations and provide users ample time to do the validation
    • Work on the regular announcements about the migration, timelines so that the end-users are not surprised when you finally do the migration.
    •  Work on creating great, detailed documentation and FAQ's so that you are not bombarded with common queries after migration. It also helps the end-users finding answers to their queries.