Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update Jira and Confluence links after server-to-cloud migration

Hello, my name is Ali, and I am a product manager on Atlassian's Migration team, working on the tools to help you migrate your data from self-managed infrastructure (Server and Data Center) to Cloud. For those of you in the middle of a cloud migration or about to start one, I would like to invite you to use the Link Migration Service user interface (known as Product links) to update Jira and Confluence product links following a server-to-cloud migration.

What are product links?

Product links are URLs that direct users to entities such as Jira issues or Confluence pages. For example, users may link to a Jira ticket where they are tracking work on a Confluence page that explains the work they’re doing and why. These kinds of links are incredibly important for providing more context and giving teammates and stakeholders the visibility they need.

The most familiar examples of product links include:

• Links between Jira issues in different instances

• Links from Jira issues to Confluence pages

• Links from Confluence pages to Jira issues

2dcccd3d-2c58-4e45-8149-5eee69758ec0.png

How does Link Migration Service help?

When you migrate your products to the cloud, many product links may not function correctly. This issue occurs because the links continue to point toward the resources to which they were originally configured, resulting in redirected traffic to your old Server or Data Center instances or to resources that are no longer available, like in the following example:

post_swagger.png

Until recently, there wasn't a solution to update these links without reaching out to Atlassian Support. We are now changing that to make it easier and faster for you to update these broken links and, as a result, get up and running in cloud sooner.

What is new?