Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Migration Journey - Sri

Hi Everyone, 

Good day. Hope you are doing good and safe.

I am Sri Kumar, I am a Migration support engineer In Atlassian.  I have been working in the Migration support team for almost 2.5 years. And my journey has been so superb so far. 

If you had a magic wand and could add one current Atlassian cloud feature to your on-prem instance, what would it be and why?

Release next-gen projects in Jira Server

How would the cloud make your life easier?

I have been helping customers both on the Server and Cloud. The thing I like more about the cloud is the User interface. 

Is there a feature that’s coming in cloud that you’re especially excited about?

I am really excited about Cloud to Cloud Migration feature 

What surprised you most about the migration to cloud?

Migration can sometimes be complex, even when we are dealing with a small amount of data

What technical a-ha moment helped you get across the finish line?

Understanding how Jira and Confluence work ( basic understanding) would really be helpful 

What advice would you give other customers starting a migration? What do you wish you’d known?

• Spent time on planning the strategy for the migration. 
  • Clean up the unwanted data on the Server and migrate only the data that you need to the cloud. 
  • Always test migration and then perform production migration

What migration strategy and method did you use?

I have worked with different customers and different strategies. 

What’s the best part of life in cloud migration support team?

I really like to unleash the potential of every team by helping them migrate to the cloud.

Cheers,
Sri

3 comments

Comment

Elizabeth Howden
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 23, 2021

yellow-star this is awesome @Sri Kumar !!!! Migrations MVP :)

Like # people like this
Bridget
Community Manager