Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in
Celebration

Earn badges and make progress

You're on your way to the next level! Join the Kudos program to earn points and save your progress.

Deleted user Avatar
Deleted user

Level 1: Seed

25 / 150 points

Next: Root

Avatar

1 badge earned

Collect

Participate in fun challenges

Challenges come and go, but your rewards stay with you. Do more to earn more!

Challenges
Coins

Gift kudos to your peers

What goes around comes around! Share the love by gifting kudos to your peers.

Recognition
Ribbon

Rise up in the ranks

Keep earning points to reach the top of the leaderboard. It resets every quarter so you always have a chance!

Leaderboard

Come for the products,
stay for the community

The Atlassian Community can help you and your team get more value out of Atlassian products and practices.

Atlassian Community about banner
4,457,020
Community Members
 
Community Events
176
Community Groups

How difficult is it to change a particular user's authorization policy?

I'm trying to prepare my organization for use of Atlassian tools.  One thing we are struggling with is how to authenticate.  

 

Let's say I start with the default user creation to make accounts for

Abby

Bryan

Charlie

Diane

 

If I want to move to SSO or g-suite later, is it possible to put those users on that policy?  

What about vice-versa, where I start with SSO or g-suite, but want to stop using that service?

1 answer

0 votes

Hello @Eirik Aune,

Welcome to Atlassian Community!

When adding users to a Cloud site, they will be able to login with email and password.

So, for example, you invited Abby@domain.com manually through the user management page. Then you decided to use GSuite to manage the users. If Abby@domain.com also exists in the GSuite group that you are syncing, the account will be synced and you will be able to manage that account on GSuite and they will start using SSO to log in on Atlassian Cloud products. 

If a user you’re syncing from G Suite already exists, we’ll link the G Suite and Atlassian accounts based on their primary email address and G Suite identification.

If you disconnect from GSuite, users or their permissions won't be removed. The difference is that you won't be able to manage their accounts. They will still be able to login using Google credentials or using email and password. 

When you disconnect from G Suite, users permanently stop syncing. Your users can still log in to your products with their Google credentials or log in with Atlassian credentials after they reset their password. However, their details won't sync when you make changes to their Google accounts.

If you have any other questions regarding this matter, please let us know.

Regards,
Angélica

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
DEPLOYMENT TYPE
CLOUD
PRODUCT PLAN
FREE
PERMISSIONS LEVEL
Site Admin
TAGS

Atlassian Community Events