Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why my Kanban board show subtasks of issues not in scope/filter?

Pablo Osorio da Silva June 18, 2019

Background

As an Agile Coach, I want to see separate issues on separate board, so that each team can focus on their scope. AC: Not pay additional plug-ins

Details:
I have different teams, with different Kanban boards, and 1 Scrum board on the same project. There are stories and sub-tasks, and goal would be that each one would see only their own issues (board and backlog). There is a custom field "SW Team" which is filled during plannings and backlog refinements with one of the team names, and until now I came out with 2 approaches to filter this:

1. JQL: project = sw AND "sw team" = ABC...
    1. I can't see sub-tasks, as people forget to populate that field, while their manage work on issues
  2. JQL: project = sw AND ("sw team" = ABC OR "Sw Team" is EMPTY) ....
    1. I'm getting sub-tasks of stories that are not on my board, as they have their sw team = Other_team while its sub-tasks keep it EMPTY.

Why does sub-tasks of issues not in filter appear on this board? Sub-tasks should be with their mama&papas, and not running along far from them! :)

Seriously, I accept that they may appear (its a issue as any other and comply with filter), but there should be a JQL options to filter this out.  And please... don't suggest me plugins that will cost me almost as much as JIRA itself.

Agile Board - JIRA.png

1 answer

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Answer accepted
Ignacio Pulgar
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 19, 2019

Hi Pablo,

With no third party plugins, I'd suggest setting Sw Team as a required field for sub-tasks.