cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change owner of a Board in Jira

Dillon Gilkey December 5, 2018

I'm on Jira version 7.12.3

I'm an Admin within Jira as well

My question is how do I go about changing the owner of a Board? The owner of the Board is currently inactive as shown below.

Jira Board.PNG

4 answers

Suggest an answer

9 votes
Sümeye Beki September 20, 2021

Hi, it is a bit late respond but I figured it out and want to explain :) I realized that the "Owner" is not the owner of the Board. It's owner of the shared filter. It is not about Board settings, all you need to do is changing the right filter that your board is using.

To do that, 

Go to Jira Administration > System > Shared Filter then, find the filter. Click the wheel icon on the right of the filter and choose "Change Owner"

Paul Gaida April 14, 2022

Thank you! I just was searching für the possibility to change the Owner. The old one has been deactivated and I could not change the ownership. But I also thought I is the board owner.

Ifat Keren September 22, 2022

@Sümeye Beki thanks a lot!
A small question about it -

When I'm trying to search by owner, but the current owner is off board, I can not find filters or this user at all. only if i search by the filter name. make sence?

Like Sümeye Beki likes this
Sümeye Beki September 28, 2022

Hi @Ifat Keren, did you try writing the name of the ex worker and then hit the search button? Because I can search even if the off boarding situation exists. We have Active directory server by the way, if it affects the solution

Ifat Keren September 30, 2022

AFAIK we don't work with active directory so I have a feeling that the dropdown opens only on boarded people. i didn't have the chance to check this... will investigate this soon :)

Sümeye Beki October 10, 2022