Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advanced Road Maps - Adding a Column for Comments

Jeanne Higgins December 29, 2021

I am new to Advanced Road Maps and wondered is there a way to add in a column that can be text at my Project Plan View per Epic, Task, Subtask so that when I meet with Customers I can add the latest status to a task versus having to go to the actual Jira level to add comments there when this is really for current status while on a call with the customers?  I can do this now for Microsoft Project and Smartsheets.   If yes, how do I do this?

Thank you,

Jeanne

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Hannes Obweger - JXL for Jira
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
December 30, 2021

Hi @Jeanne Higgins

I'm not aware of this functionality in Advanced Roadmaps - but it *may* be possible to create a plain-text custom field and add it to your roadmap view. Then you could just write your notes to this custom field.

Depending on your use case, you might also have a look at JXL for Jira. It's a full-fledged spreadsheet/table view for your issues that allows for quick and easy inline editing, similar to Advanced Roadmaps (however without the additional "commit" step of AR). 

In JXL, there's a built-in "Notes" feature, very similar to Smartsheets, that has been built exactly for your use-case. You can just add it as a column and add any text you want to.

This is how it looks in action:

notes.gif

More info at https://jxl.app, and please reach out anytime for questions!

Hope this is helpful,

Best,

Hannes

Jeanne Higgins December 30, 2021

Hannes,

Hi.

Good information on the JXL for Jira, but I want to keep to Advanced Road Maps because it is close to what I use in smartsheet for Project Management.  I am going to review it though because maybe it has more PM functionality athan ARM.