cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Set Approver Based on the Requestor's Group

Alvin
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 21, 2018

Hi Community. I'm new to groovy and I just want to seek help here. How can I set approver/s based on the requestor's group upon creation using post function scriptrunner

For example , Requestor 1 belongs to the Group 1 and Requestor 2 belongs to the Group 2 , if Requestor 1 creates a ticket, Approver must be the Approver 1 , and same rule applies to Requestor 2

any comments/suggestion is really appreciated. If you have sample code to work on, that would be great. Thank you!

2 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Answer accepted
Ivan Tovbin
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 25, 2018

Hi Alvin, 

Assuming your approvers field is a multi user-picker type custom field and requestor is the user creating the issue, the code for a post function is as follows. Make sure to put in on your 'Create' transition.

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.fields.CustomField
import com.atlassian.jira.security.groups.GroupManager
import com.atlassian.jira.user.ApplicationUser
import com.atlassian.jira.user.util.UserManager

ApplicationUser currentUser = ComponentAccessor.getJiraAuthenticationContext().getLoggedInUser()
GroupManager groupManager = ComponentAccessor.getGroupManager()
UserManager userManager = ComponentAccessor.getUserManager()
CustomField approversField = ComponentAccessor.getCustomFieldManager().getCustomFieldObjectByName("approversFieldName")
List<ApplicationUser> approversList = new ArrayList<>()