Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update field based on rules based on the following parameters new plug

Iryna Pazharytskaya March 12, 2021

Hello everyone,

I am new to Jira and I encountered a problem I don't seem to be able to solve. When using a function Update field based on rules based on the following parameters where I want to insert Temporary text in a string the following error pops up:

"It is not possible to evaluate an expression that contains fields that are only available during a transition".

Is there any way to fix this bug?

Thank youtemp.PNG

4 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

10 votes
Answer accepted
Frank Leclerc _Decadis AG_ March 14, 2021

Hi @Iryna Pazharytskaya ,

my colleague @Max Foerster - K15t  has already correctly recognised that this is not an error (even if it looks like one at first glance), but a hint.

Testing an expression within a Condition, Validator or PostFunction is still relatively new and has only been available since Jira Workflow Toolbox version 3.0.

Currently, only expressions that refer to information already stored in the issue, such as Summary, Description, CustomField A, CustomField B, etc., can be tested.
Information that is determined at runtime during workflow execution, such as temporary string or number fields, previous status, target status, etc., can be included in an expression but cannot be tested because this information is not available at the time of testing.

However, as @Max Foerster - K15t  said, your expression looks good. Therefore, it should run successfully as long as the TemporaryText2 field has been set in one of the previous PostFunctions.