Jira roadmap, board and workflow

Alex_Fyfe April 16, 2020

Hi,

I'm new to Jira and have just started working through the online training courses which are great.

I have a few queries which I hope you'll assist with.

1. How are Jira roadmaps, boards and workflows linked? If so then how. Do you use all 3 or       just the one option e.g. Jira Board.

2, When creating an issue can you add an "to be completed by date"?

3. Am I correct that story points are a total score based on the priority level of an issue? I         noticed story points didn't appear on the next-gen project I created.

4, Am I correct that Scrum is a framework for agile project management that uses fixed-           length iterations of work, called sprints and that Kanban is a framework for agile project       management that matches the work to the team's capacity? Is the only difference that         Kanban doesn't use the backlog queue and sprints? If so, why have the two options?   

Apologies for the long first message.

Kind Regards,

Alex.

2 comments

Comment

John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 16, 2020

Hi Alex - Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

I will try to answer each of your questions.

1. Roadmaps are linked to Epics. But roadmaps are currently only available for Next-gen type projects. The roadmaps are just a visual depiction of some information about the Epics.

Boards allow you to visually see the issues (cards) you create. It is made up of swimlanes and columns. Columns represent activities your team does - like writing copy, development, testing, etc. These activities are represented as Statuses in Jira. Statuses are the steps of your workflow. So you have to create a workflow first (with statuses). Then the statues of the workflow are mapped to your board so the board knows where the cards should show up.