Throwback Thursday: What was your first job? #TBT

It's Thursday!

giphy

My family had a business so all of my siblings got their first job there. But my real first job was at Hard Rock Café in Reykjavík, Iceland. I worked as a bus boy during two of the years that I was attending technical college. So after school type of work. Bussed tables (cleaned tables). I remember we were allowed to get one free meal during our shift (usually at the beginning). We had to eat the meal in the small cafeteria next to the kitchen. We got 10% discount on merchandize so all my friends asked me to buy t-shirts :)

hrc.jpg

What was your first job?

Let’s make it a great Thursday!
KGM

16 comments

Comment

Dave Rosenlund
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 12, 2021

Hi, @Kristján Geir Mathiesen.  My first job, as a teenager, was in an ice cream warehouse. It was my job to work in the large freezer, preparing/loading the trollies that would be taken outside and loaded on the delivery vehicles by the drivers (who would check my work and sign-off that they had the right items for the next day's deliveries). I was cold in the freezer of course so I had to wear an insulated jumpsuit, hat, and gloves plus take regular warm-up breaks. 

A nice perk of this job was that we were allowed to bring damaged goods home with us. Sadly, I actually got sick of eating ice cream and did not recover until I was in my 20s. ;) 

Like # people like this
Karen Waterlander August 12, 2021