Throwback Thursday: What was the first car you bought? #TBT

It's Thursday!

giphy

In Iceland, the earliest one can get a drivers license for a car is 17 years old. I couldn't wait to get my drivers license! I had been working every summer and Christmas break since I was 11 years old to save up for a car. In the end, my mom and I bought the car together. Brand new 1987 Toyota Corolla, similar to this one in the picture below except it was a 4 door, steel gray.

1987-toyota-corolla.jpg

I put SO many km on it, it was crazy. Used up the front tires in two months so I rotated them to the back. And I was almost always the designated driver because I offered to be. I just loved to drive and I really liked that snazzy car :) Washing and waxing... so much fun!

So, what was the first car you bought?

Make it a great Thursday!
KGM

17 comments

Comment

Pedro Silva May 27, 2021

I love your posts @Kristján Geir Mathiesen !

My first car, like 12 years ago, was a Honda Civic. It did not last much.

Like # people like this
Kristján Geir Mathiesen
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 27, 2021

Aww, thank you @Pedro Silva - I really appreciate that. Sorry your first car didn't last too long, though.

Like # people like this
RJ Gazarek
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 27, 2021

The first car I bought was a several year old used Toyota Echo... aka... the clown car :D But I loved it!

Like # people like this
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 27, 2021