Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Friday Fun : The road to Atlassian .... How did you get there ....

Kris Dewachter
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 1, 2024

Hi all,

When talking to other IT colleagues, it's always interesting to hear about their career history. How did they get into IT, become an Atlassian Consultant or admin .... IT was not always people's first choice.

I know people who had other careers before IT. They were actor or warehouse pickers.

For me, my story is actually very boring. Growing up in the 70's en 80's, with the emerging of the first PC's, I studied IT in school. At that time, that also involved 6 hours of accounting a week, which offcourse, I did not like.

After graduating, I think I've almost done every IT job role there is ... developer, tester, installing machines and software, analist, consultant, project manager. For many years I was able to work with the Atlassian tools before I was able to become an Atlassian Consultant.

What is your story? How did you get there?

Enjoy your weekend

Kris

11 comments

Comment

Kristian Klima
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 1, 2024

I studied politics and English in the mid 1990s (fun fact, you can call me 'Doctor' :) ) and then had a career in journalism.

But I was always standing one foot in the IT, tech, and science world. It all started when I got embarrassed at the university's resource center because I didn't know how to use a computer.